Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Baconating Kevin Bacon (for charity)

Posted on Wed, Sep 29, 2010 at 12:08 PM

We here at Inlander HQ always knew Kevin Bacon was delicious, but now someone's gone to questionable lengths to objectively prove the point. J&D's Foods, makers of the (in)famous Bacon Salt, commissioned a bacon bust of the edibly-named actor from artist* Mike Lahue.

But lest you think this is merely the manifestation of some silly dream by dedicated bacon-heads (or bacon-Bacon-heads), it's actually being done for a good cause. They're auctioning off Bacon Kevin Bacon, along with extras like an official BKB carrying case and some disturbingly adorable BaconPeople, with all proceeds going to Ashley's Team, a nonprofit that focuses on bringing joy to children with cancer. Even though J&D and Ashley's Team are both Seattle-based, we're willing to look past that shortcoming (especially since some of the meat-addled minds behind J&D are WSU grads).

I'm not 100 percent sure on the rules for this, but I think owning some bacon-on-Bacon art makes you the automatic winner of the "Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon" game, not to mention making you "the coolest person you will ever know, a champion of the underground meat sculpture movement" (as per the auction listing). Bid away, b(B)acon-lovers!


* I can find no evidence either proving or disproving the claim that Lahue solely uses meats as his media. But, to be honest, I didn't really look that hard.
  • Pin It
  • Favorite
  • Email

Tags: , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun
Free State Parks Day

Free State Parks Day @ Riverside State Park

Sat., April 4, Wed., April 22, Sun., May 10, Sat., June 6, Sat., June 13, Tue., Aug. 25, Sat., Sept. 26 and Wed., Nov. 11

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Top Topics in Bloglander

News (136)


What's Up? (62)


Music (47)


Sports (37)


Culture (31)


© 2015 Inlander
Website powered by Foundation