Pin It

CD Review -- Paul Simon 

& & by John Parks & &

The year 2000 ushered in a return to original form within the music industry. Rather than charting off into uncertain waters, songwriters like U2's Bono and Paul Simon have both returned to an earlier palette. On You're the One, Simon returns to his semi-autobiographical/noticing the world around him approach to songwriting. The sound is straightforward, folksy and acoustic, a departure from the complex rhythms found on Graceland and The Rhythm of the Saints. We still get a sense of Simon's love for World Music but added to the mix this time around are passions for Buddy Holly and bluegrass.

Storytelling is at the forefront of these 11 songs. The word choice and flow of the phrasing is so good that you will find yourself looking forward to the next line. When all is said and done, we're left with the picture of a 59-year-old man who has seen it all, lived to tell about it and is probably ready to try it all again. Whether it be a broken heart, financial ruin or the Bible, Simon covers it all eloquently.

You're the One will sober the listener through its lack of arrogance and at the same time will inspire through its searching tone. This examination of life's unanswerable questions leads Simon to a peaceful solution. On the opening track he admits, "I'm bound to tell a story, that's where I belong."
  • Pin It

Latest in Comment

  • Crapo Flip-Flops
  • Crapo Flip-Flops

    Trail Mix: Idaho senator tied in knots, and Trump's wordplay
    • Oct 27, 2016
  • Now It's Our Turn
  • Now It's Our Turn

    A newly minted voter reflects on joining the process of American democracy
    • Oct 27, 2016
  • We Shall Overcome
  • We Shall Overcome

    In retrospect, this election could mean short-term pain for long-term gain
    • Oct 27, 2016
  • More »


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed
Monumental: Skiing Our National Parks

Monumental: Skiing Our National Parks @ Martin Woldson Theater at The Fox

Thu., Oct. 27, 7 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

More by John Parks

  • CD Review - Radiohead

    A forgetful soul would have the pleasure of being free from all of the deconstructing that has accompanied the release of Radiohead's Kid A and recent companion, Amnesiac. The two were recorded during the same session and rumor had it that t
    • Jun 27, 2001
  • CD Review - Depeche Mode

    Over the span of their 20-year career, Depeche Mode has given a dark synthesized voice to the disaffected youth of the planet. On Exciter, their tenth studio album to date, we find the trio teaming up with Bjork producer Mark Bell. Their l
    • May 24, 2001
  • CD Review - Nick Drake

    Originally released in 1970, Nick Drake's Bryter Layter constitutes one third of the recent reissue of his back catalogue. This trio has been re-packaged, digitally re-mastered, and enhanced with lyrics and additional photos. Drake died in 1
    • Apr 5, 2001
  • More »

Most Commented On

  • Defending North Idaho

    Why Heather Scott must go
    • Oct 20, 2016
  • The Do-Over

    After failing to pass a bus service tax hike last year, Spokane Transit Authority has a plan to get you to vote for it again
    • Oct 6, 2016
  • More »

Top Tags in
News & Comment

election 2016


green zone


trail mix

Readers also liked…

  • To Kill the Black Snake
  • To Kill the Black Snake

    Historic all-tribes protest at Standing Rock is meant to stop the destruction of the earth for all
    • Sep 8, 2016
  • Give Him a Talk Show
  • Give Him a Talk Show

    Some of the far left's fairy tales are as unbelievable as the far right's
    • Mar 18, 2015

© 2016 Inlander
Website powered by Foundation