Pin It

If You Liked LOTR... 

by Sheri Boggs and Ted S. McGregor Jr.

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis -- While Tolkien never quite warmed up to the seven "fairy stories" written by his friend Jack (C.S. Lewis's nickname among friends and family), many readers found their way to Middle-earth by way of Narnia. Few children's books are as effortlessly engaging as these, and you can always spot a fellow Narnian-trapped-in-the-real-world by seeing how he or she responds to phrases like "farther up and farther in!" or "he's not a tame lion." Best read in the order of publication (rather than the newer "chronological" order), the Chronicles are an amalgamation of Christian themes, Greek and Norse myth, tweedy English sensibilities and medieval epic adventure.

The Prydain Cycle by Lloyd Alexander -- Based on the Welsh myths of The Mabinogion, Lloyd Alexander's somber Prydain and the things that take place there have a strong resemblance to Tolkien's Middle-earth. Although written for children in the 9-to-13-year-old range, The Book of Three, The Black Cauldron, The Castle of Llyr, Taran Wanderer and The High King are astonishingly good and survive not only the test of time but, often, the reader's passage into adulthood. Alexander's affection for his characters achieves that trickiest of elements in fiction - a real, palpable chemistry among protagonist Taran and fellow wayfarers Eilonwy, Gurgi, Fflewddur Flamm, and Gwydion. And while there is plenty in the way of battle scenes, cliffhangers, desperate situations and courage, there is also Alexander's gently witty narration and the undeniable magnetism of a story that feels like much more than "just" a story.

The Time Quartet by Madeleine L'Engle -- Snoopy wrote it on his typewriter for decades but that stolid old novel-starter "It was a dark and stormy night" is an actual opening line. It's the first sentence of one of the most original children's books of the 20th century. A Wrinkle in Time was rejected by more than sixty publishers before finding a home at Farrar Straus & amp; Giroux and winning the Newbery Medal in 1963. L'Engle handles her scientific milieu -- protagonist Meg's parents are both scientists -- with the surefooted ease of a nuclear physicist and Meg's imperfections (a quick temper, pre-adolescent moodiness) have endeared her to countless simpatico young readers. Also, in spite of the fact that the book is filled with time travel, computers, other worlds and strange, witchy women, L'Engle's vision is one in which everything that matters boils down to one fierce and beautiful thing - love.

The Song of Fire and Ice Trilogy, by George R.R. Martin -- Fans of this series love to point out the double middle initials Martin shares (perhaps affectedly) with Tolkien. But beyond both being sprawling fantasies set in elaborate worlds, that's where the similarities end. If you think Tolkien's world is far too black and white, with both evil and good appearing only in their absolute forms, Martin's books (A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings and A Storm of Swords) might be for you. Call it postmodern fantasy if you want, but it's a world where good doesn't always win, where you'll find yourself rooting for characters you sort of hate and where very mature doses of sex and violence characterize the action. Martin was the brains behind the cult TV show Beauty and the Beast (starring Linda Hamilton), and since his trilogy has been so popular, he is coming out with book four in the series, A Feast for Crows, in April.

The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien -- If you love The Lord of the Rings and you haven't read The Silmarillion yet, you need to -- right now. This is the backstory of Middle-earth, and it tells the tales deep in that world's ancient history. There's some creationist stuff to wade through at the beginning, but soon enough Tolkien gets down to business, with a series of panoramic tales that deliver more of the good stuff. In the old days, before the rings of power, Silmarils -- rare stones -- wreaked havoc, as everybody fought over them. Only a few of the characters you get to know in LOTR appear in The Silmarillion (Sauron, Gandalf, Smeagol), but you learn more about the creation of the rings. Peter Jackson borrowed some of the stories from The Silmarillion for his opening sequence in The Fellowship of the Ring.

Publication date: 12/18/03

  • Pin It

Latest in News

  • Token Democracy
  • Token Democracy

    Would letting Washington voters give taxpayer money to politicians reduce the power of interest groups — or just subsidize politicians?
    • Oct 20, 2016

    Breaking down some of the issues you'll get to vote on this year
    • Oct 20, 2016
  • Shea's World
  • Shea's World

    As Matt Shea seeks re-election, his presence may be felt more in other local races than in his own
    • Oct 20, 2016
  • More »


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Today | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat | Sun | Mon
Monumental: Skiing Our National Parks

Monumental: Skiing Our National Parks @ Martin Woldson Theater at The Fox

Thu., Oct. 27, 7 p.m.

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Most Commented On

  • The Do-Over

    After failing to pass a bus service tax hike last year, Spokane Transit Authority has a plan to get you to vote for it again
    • Oct 6, 2016
  • Pants on Fire

    U.S. Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers can't see the forest for the trees when it comes to climate change
    • Oct 6, 2016
  • More »

Top Tags in
News & Comment

election 2016


green zone


trail mix

Readers also liked…

  • New Blood
  • New Blood

    Candidates are launching bids for Spokane City Council and could bring big changes to city government
    • Mar 18, 2015
  • The Price of Progress
  • The Price of Progress

    Why the Spokane Tribe says it's still owed for Grand Coulee Dam
    • Apr 1, 2015

© 2016 Inlander
Website powered by Foundation