This is a past event.

The Taming of the Shrew 

When: Fri., April 28, 7:30 p.m., Sat., April 29, 7:30 p.m., Sun., April 30, 2 p.m., Thu., May 4, 7:30 p.m., Fri., May 5, 7:30 p.m., Sat., May 6, 7:30 p.m., Thu., May 11, 7:30 p.m., Fri., May 12, 7:30 p.m., Sat., May 13, 7:30 p.m., Sun., May 14, 2 p.m., Thu., May 18, 7:30 p.m., Fri., May 19, 7:30 p.m. and Sun., May 21, 2 p.m. 2017
Phone: 325-2507
Email: mikayla@spokanecivictheatre.com
Price: $27
spokanecivictheatre.com
One of William Shakespeare’s most beloved and frequently performed comedies, The Taming of the Shrew remains far ahead of its time in the ways it examines and eviscerates classism and sexism. The play opens in the Civic’s studio theatre on Friday, and it’s in good hands: Director David Baker previously helmed the theater’s steampunk take on The Tempest. The plot of Shrew has been ripped off and repurposed countless times since the 16th century — as a Western in 1963’s McLintock!, a teen comedy in 10 Things I Hate About You, an R-rated romantic farce in Deliver Us from Eva and as a Broadway musical in Kiss Me, Kate, which is actually set to premiere on the Civic’s main stage on May 19.

Fri, April 28 through Sun, May 21: Thu-Sat at 7:30 pm, Sun at 2 pm • $27 • Spokane Civic Theatre • 1020 N. Howard • spokanecivictheatre.com • 325-2507
— Nathan Weinbender

All of today's events | Staff Picks

Search Events…

Map

Nearby

History

© 2017 Inlander
Website powered by Foundation