Thursday, February 18, 2016

Spokane Civic Theatre executive director Keith Dixon resigns

Posted By on Thu, Feb 18, 2016 at 1:28 PM

click to enlarge Dixon photographed backstage at the Civic for the Inlander's 2014 Fall Arts issue. - KRISTEN BLACK
Kristen Black
Dixon photographed backstage at the Civic for the Inlander's 2014 Fall Arts issue.

The Spokane Civic Theatre's executive director for two years, Keith Dixon, announced his resignation from the position in a press release distributed this afternoon.

Dixon was hired in February 2014 to fill a vacancy after the Civic's board controversially fired former executive director Yvonne A.K. Johnson.

Dixon cites as his reason for the departure a desire to be closer to his family in Louisiana, where he lived prior to coming to Spokane.

A search committee has been formed to find a new executive director for the Civic. Dixon was scheduled to direct a few upcoming productions during the remainder of the theater's 2015-16 season, including the season-closing show Guys and Dolls. His last day at the theater will be April 11. 

Tags: , , ,

Screen on the Green @ University of Idaho

Thu., July 9, Thu., July 16, Thu., July 23, Thu., July 30, Thu., Aug. 6, Thu., Aug. 13, Sat., Aug. 22 and Thu., Aug. 27
  • or

About The Author

Chey Scott

Chey Scott is the Inlander's food and listings editor. She compiles the weekly events calendar for the print and online editions of the Inlander, manages and edits the food section, and also writes about local arts and culture. Chey (pronounced Shay) is a lifelong Spokanite and a graduate of Washington State University...