Thursday, March 22, 2018

Inlander publisher named a 2018 Spokane Citizen Hall of Fame nominee

Posted By on Thu, Mar 22, 2018 at 4:04 PM

click to enlarge Inlander publisher named a 2018 Spokane Citizen Hall of Fame nominee
A snapshot of previous inductees into the Spokane Citizen Hall of Fame.

Each year, the Spokane Public Library Foundation, the city of Spokane and Spokane Public Library put out a call for nominations for new inductees into the Spokane Citizen Hall of Fame.

This year, the Inlander publisher and co-founder Ted S. McGregor Jr. is a finalist in the category of Innovation and Leadership.

The Hall of Fame recognizes Spokane individuals for achievements in six categories while also raising money to support the Spokane Public Library Foundation, which funds a range of programs and services offered by the city's library system.

Honorees in each of the six categories were chosen from more than 100 nominations; this year's are listed below. Final winners and inductees into the Spokane Citizen Hall of Fame will be announced at an event on Tuesday, May 1.

Arts and Letters
Ken Spiering, local artist and art teacher
Shawn Vestal, author and columnist for the Spokesman-Review
Verne Windham, KPBX music director

Father Bernard Coughlin, former president of Gonzaga University
Leonard Oakland, Whitworth University professor
Phyllis Stephens, horticultural and gardening specialist

Economic Development and Business
Kim Pearman-Gillman, McKinstry business development executive
Jeff Philipps, Rosauers Supermarkets president
Tom Simpson, Etailz cofounder

Innovation and Leadership
Ted McGregor, Inlander publisher and cofounder
Bill Bialkowsky, Vanessa Behan Crisis Nursery founder
Sheri Barnard, former Spokane mayor

Public Service and Philanthropy
Irv Zakheim, Zak Designs chairman and CEO
Lois Stratton, former Washington state representative and senator
Jack Geraghty, former Spokane mayor and Spokane County Commissioner

Science, Health and Medicine
Dr. Deb Harper, pediatrician at the Providence Valley Young People's Clinic
Dr. Katherine Tuttle, Providence Heath Care executive director for research

“These 17 honorees represent some of our greatest champions in the community, and we are so excited to celebrate them with our entire community,” says Sarah Bain, director of development for Spokane Public Library Foundation.

The Citizen Hall of fame was established in 2015, and includes inductees both living and deceased, including many of Spokane's early civic leaders. See a list and achievements of all inductees on the Spokane Public Library's website here.

Tags: , , , , ,

Christmas Posada 2022 @ West Central Community Center

Sat., Dec. 10, 5-8 p.m.
  • or

About The Author

Chey Scott

Chey Scott is the Inlander's Arts and Culture Editor and editor of the Inlander's yearly, glossy magazine, the Annual Manual. Chey (pronounced "Shay") is a lifelong resident of the Spokane area and a graduate of Washington State University. She's been on staff at the Inlander since 2012...